Happy… Pancake Day?

IMG_6802
…another Sunday morning breakfast.

February 9th, 2016 is Pancake Tuesday.  Alright, perhaps to some it is called Shrove Tuesday, Mardi Gras, Fat Tuesday, but for all intents and purposes…

I will refer to it today as Pancake Tuesday.

…but what about those delectable Polish Pączki doughnut blessings from the Gods that are so yummy and a staple here in Chicago?

Well, this year I may break my Chicago tradition and not make it over to Dinkel’s Bakery in Lakeview to pick up my dozen-or-so stuffed doughnuts.  (But it’s sooooo tempting).  I follow the guys from SortedFood and sometimes they come up with the greatest dishes that you just have to try.

So what did I make?

 

Cinnamon-Swirl Pancakes was on this morning’s menu.  As you know, Sunday morning breakfast is a thing in our house and what better way to bring in the morning than some loaded pancakes?

All I can truly say is, you have to try this out!

I followed their recipe for the cinnamon swirl drizzle, but the pancake recipe, I ended up using my go-to pancake recipe saved on my phone from AllRecipes because I did not have the mentioned cake flour in SortedFood’s recipe.

Make sure you have this on Pancake Tuesday.  Breakfast for dinner is an absolute treat of a meal, anyway… so why the hell not?

I mean, it is not going to beat a bowl of Frosted Flakes at 9pm, but it will be damn close.  Let me know what you guys thing in the comments section below.

———-

Cinnamon-Swirl Pancakes

IMG_6804
Cinnamon Swirl:
1 stick Butter (1/2 cup)
1/2c Brown Sugar
1tsp Cinnamon (I used 1 tbsp)
Mix in a bowl with room temperature butter.  Scoop mixture into a squeeze bottle in order to easily make swirl design on the pancakes as they cook.
IMG_6803
Pancake Batter:
1 1/2 cup All Purpose Flour
3 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Salt
1 tbsp White/Caster Sugar
1 1/4 cup Milk
1 Egg
3 tbsp Melted Butter or Olive Oil
Mix batter to proper pancake batter consistency.  I ended up using 1 1/2 cup of milk in my mix and set aside.  In a heated pan with some butter or olive oil, use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to pour out your pancake batter and begin to cook.  As it cooks on one side, squeeze your cinnamon swirl mixture over the pancake in a spiral pattern and flip the pancake over when ready.  Serve with leftover cinnamon swirl mixture or maple syrup.  I actually threw in some maple syrup into the bottle and gave it a good shake.  It turned out quite nice and was a great addition to an already great pancake.
Enjoy.
One thought on “Happy… Pancake Day?

  1. Nice idea the cinnamon swirl. In South Africa we would call these Flap Jacks, our pancakes are more like crepes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

